Primary School

A partner school within the John Taylor MAT


The school curriculum consists of the subjects and activities that are taught. At Rykneld we concentrate on the 10 subjects of the National Curriculum and Religious Education. We also teach Personal, Social, Health Education and Citizenship. The 11 subjects of the National Curriculum are:

  • Core Curriculum - English, Mathematics, Science
  • Foundation Subjects - History, Design & Technology, Geography, Art & Design Computing, Foreign Language, Music, Physical Education

The children in Reception are in the final year of the Foundation Stage. There are 7 areas of learning in the 
Foundation Stage Curriculum:

  • Communication and Language
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Expressive Arts and Design
  • Physical Development

The document below provides information about the Essentials Curriculum which the school uses as a framework for planning across the school:

Essentials Curriculum information for parents

The following document provides information about how we assess attainment and progress in our curriculum:

Depth of Learning information for parents


The curriculum newsletters below provide further information relating to each year group.

Foundation Autumn Curriculum

Year 1 Autumn 1 Curriculum

Year 2 Autumn 1 Curriculum

Year 3 Autumn 1 Curriculum

Year 4 Autumn 1 Curriculum

Year 5 Autumn 1 Curriculum

Year 6 Autumn 1 Curriculum

Year 1 Autumn 2 Curriculum

Year 2 Autumn 2 Curriculum

Year 3 Autumn 2 Curriculum

Year 4 Autumn 2 Curriculum

Year 5 Autumn 2 Curriculum

Year 6 Autumn 2 Curriculum

Foundation Spring Curriculum

Year 1 Spring 1 Curriculum

Year 2 Spring 1 Curriculum

Year 3 Spring 1 Curriculum

Year 4 Spring 1 Curriculum

Year 5 Spring 1 Curriculum

Year 6 Spring 1 Curriculum